History of the Province of Europe

Marie Madeleine d’Houet, foundress of the Faithful Companions of Jesus, was born in France in 1781, and brought up there in the aftermath of the French Revolution. Naturally enough, in those years of great social hardship, the first FCJ foundations were made in France, but it was not long before the sisters travelled to other European countries.

In Marie Madeleine’s lifetime, once the Society had begun to expand more rapidly, communities were set up in England, Italy, Switzerland and Ireland. Over the years, FCJs have gone to live and work in other European countries in response to apostolic needs. They were variously grouped until, in 1983, they were divided into three provinces: Britain, the Continent and Ireland. In 1999, the three provinces were encouraged to operate as a European Network, and have since engaged in a number of joint activities.

On September 1st, 2011, the existing Provinces became a single new province:

The Province of Europe

Map of Europe.The members of the new Province actively cultivate an inclusive European vision, as they create a structure that supports and encourages their mission in Europe and responds to the questions:

What is God asking of the FCJs in Europe here and now?
How can we better love and serve God’s people,
given our present reality?

It is by keeping questions like these to the forefront of our thinking that we give ‘soul’ to our structures of administration, that we lighten these structures, and give space for the Spirit.

You may learn more about the story of our development in the European countries that have been part of our history by clicking on any country below or by using the drop-down menu at the top of the page.

Belgique      Britain      La France      Deutschland      Ireland      Italia      România      La Suisse

© Copyright Sisters Faithful Companions of Jesus 1999. All rights reserved.